Our Decision

When Caleb and I were engaged we talked about what we thought about the future and our kids. We talked about wanting boys. We talked about a little girl. We were blessed with a sweet baby girl, Charlie. We dreamt about maybe someday adopting.

Now we are.

That’s what I said, Caleb and I have officially started the adoption process. It is one of our passions, hopes, and dreams to be doing this and after much prayer we slowly started to dive in to the process. Dive is not an understatement either, after deciding that we were going to be working with One World Adoption Services (OWAS) we quickly figured out that was the easiest thing that we would have to do during this whole process!

The program that we chose to adopt through is the Democratic Republic of Congo. It is a country in Africa that has been in one of the bloodiest civil wars on earth for the past 30 plus years. And our hearts are absolutely ravaged because of all the pain, fear and emptiness that that these kids have had to experience before the age of 5.

We filled out an application with the OWAS Congo program to see if they’d even take us on, and they did! Shortly after that we were set up with a list of things to do. Papers to get. Papers to fill out. Papers to send. Fees to prepare for. Fees to pay.

These things are all daunting but our God is bigger than all of this. And the best part? He knows what He’s leading us into – we don’t have to be afraid that He won’t have it under control.

We have our first part of our home study tomorrow at 1:30 MST, please be praying for us. It’s a little nerve-racking  to have a complete stranger come into your home to see if you are suitable parents.

Also pray that we would start coming up with some good ideas for our family to fundraise. This is an expensive journey to start and we are trusting that God will provide in His perfect timing!

Finally, pray for our future kid(s?)… Pray that God will make it clear to us who will join our family. And pray that God would protect them, keep them healthy, and provide for them physically, mentally and spiritually.

I already wake up in the middle of the night with the urgency to pray for our kid(s?) and I don’t even have a face, name, or number to go with those prayers. But God has that covered, right? I also have had this immediate feeling of our family not being whole yet… It’s amazing that God can do that immediately through planting the seed of adoption in our hearts!

Thank you for praying for us. Thank you for encouraging us. Thank you for loving us. We know that God has placed each of you in our lives during this season for a very specific reason and we are thankful regardless of what that reason is!

14 thoughts on “Our Decision

  1. Adoption is a beautiful thing. We have many friends who have adopted. Some are in China right now picking up their new (almost blind) daughter. Others have been local. We have 3 in our church from Ethiopia and 1 more by the end of the year. You will be so blessed and others too if you allow them to take part. I will be praying for you Laura. The Lords timing is perfect!

  2. Laura,
    You have no idea how often I think of you. You will always have such a special place in my heart. I am very proud of you. I am grateful to see you loving Jesus and your husband and baby girl! I always knew you would be a great wife and mommy. I am thrilled at your decision to adopt. Micah and I have had a heart for adoption for many years now. Currently with 4 little kids – 2,4,6,8 yrs old, we are been thankful to be a part of financially helping kids come to their forever homes. Looking after orphans and widows has always been at the center of Christ’s heart and we want it to be at the center of ours as well. Please keep us posted and let us know how we can help. We have been through this process with many couples over the past few years and it is quite the adventure – full of excitement and dependency upon the Lord. Makes me beyond grateful that the Lord engrafted me into his family. I love it! And if Katie in Uganda can adopt 14 kids of her own with no husband, there is something we can all do, right? (I’m sure you have seen her website, right?) http://kissesfromkatie.blogspot.com/

    • MELINDA!!! I think of you often too! I miss you guys bunches and I can’t believe how old your kids are getting!! I appreciate you checking in and commenting! I haven’t seen that website before – how cool is that?! I will definitely keep you guys posted, we aren’t sure how everything is going to happen yet… it’s all happening a lot faster than what we were expecting, that’s for sure! But God has a funny way of making that happen, doesn’t He? I miss you and your family a lot, there are so many things that I learned from you and Micah that I apply to my life daily. God has used you in so many ways in my life and my family’s! Love you lots! And I look forward to staying in touch with you! 🙂 Tell your wonderful family hello from me!

  3. Sweet Laura, Bob and I celebrate all the Lord is doing in and through you and Caleb!! We are praying for you each step of the way and for each of your babies, no matter what age. God will draw you together in His perfect way and perfect time. We love you very much. xoxo

  4. Caleb and Laura,

    I am sure God has a special child (or children) in store for you. I admire your courage to move through this adventure in your young lives. There are so many children that suffer and it is very sad. Knowing that you will be loving one of these children into a wonderful new life is very special. God Bless you both! mom

  5. I just read this news! This is wonderful! We too will be praying for that very special child or children as they come along to complete your family. God is using you in amazing ways, and He will bless you abundantly for your heart for the children. We love you, and are so proud of the beautiful family that you have already become.

Leave a comment